New Zealand and South Korea announce new sanctions against Russia - Reuters

New Zealand and South Korea announce new sanctions against Russia – Reuters

  • New Zealand announced sanctions against Russia.
  • South Korea stopped doing business with the Russian Central Bank.
  • These moves come in response to the invasion of Ukraine.

The New Zealand government said Monday it will introduce legislation allowing it to impose unprecedented sanctions on Russia following its invasion of Ukraine.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said the sanctions would give the country the ability to freeze Russian assets in New Zealand, and prevent individuals and companies from transferring their money and assets into the country to avoid government sanctions. Leaving. Entering New Zealand waters or airspace.

direct | Russia strikes Ukraine by air, land and sea as civilians try to flee

Ardern also released a list of 100 people banned from traveling to New Zealand.

Meanwhile, South Korea decided to cut off transactions with the Russian Central Bank and freeze all assets held by the bank in the won, as part of the country’s latest move to join efforts by Western countries to tighten sanctions on Moscow.

A South Korean Finance Ministry official said South Korea’s Finance Ministry will release more details, including the scope of the new sanctions that will “be in line with US financial sanctions.”

The move comes after Seoul announced earlier that it would ban exports of strategic materials, block some Russian banks from the international payment system SWIFT and increase aid to Ukraine.

Prohibited items will include electronics, semiconductors, computers, information and communications, sensors, lasers, navigation, avionics, and marine and aerospace equipment.

Did you know that you can listen to articles? Subscribe to News24 to access this exciting feature and more.

READ  MMA gym fined for 'flagrant violation' of vaccination orders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.