Alinghi, owned by Ernesto Bertarelli, won the America’s Cup for the first time in 2003. The Swiss Confederation defended its title victoriously in 2007 in Valencia before losing in 2010 to the Americans from Oracle. The US team also won in 2013, and handed over the trophy to Team New Zealand in 2017. The New Zealanders retained the prestigious trophy last March.

Containing the city of New Zealand, which is trying to eradicate the highly contagious variant Delta, has forced TNZ to give itself more time to choose the location for the America’s Cup 2024. The decision must fall before March 31, 2022. Cork in Ireland Valencia and Jeddah are mentioned in Saudi Arabia to organize the next edition .