Women’s World Cup 2023: Schedule, dates and times

Women’s World Cup 2023: Schedule, dates and times

The Women’s World Cup will start on July 20, 2023. When will the DFB women play and against whom? Which team is the favourite? All information about the tournament.

The most important things at a glance

When and where will the 2023 Women’s World Cup be held?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023. This is the first time that the World Cup will be held in the Southern Hemisphere and will be jointly organized by two countries for the first time.

What teams will participate in the World Cup?

For the 2023 World Cup, the number of teams has been increased from 24 to 32. As host nations, Australia and New Zealand are automatically designated as participants. The remaining teams qualified through various competitions in their respective associations.

  • 12 from Europe (UEFA): Denmark, Germany, England, France, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain
  • 6 from Asia (AFC): Australia (host), China, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, Vietnam
  • 4 from Africa (CAF): Morocco, Nigeria, Zambia and South Africa
  • 6 from North, Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF): Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Canada, Panama, and the USA
  • 3 from South America (CONMEBOL): Argentina, Brazil and Colombia
  • 1 from Oceania (OFC): New Zealand (host)

When does the German national team play?

DFB girls matches

Departure times in Australia and New Zealand

Both Australia and New Zealand have several time zones, which is why the time difference for Germany is between six and ten hours, depending on the location.

All departure times are in German time:

  • Group Stage (match day 1/2): Up to four matches per day (due to the five time zones with widely varying kick-off times between 2:00am and 2:30pm)
  • Group Stage (Day 3): Four matches per day, two in parallel (9 am, 12 noon and 1 pm).
  • Round of 16 matches: 2 matches per day (7am and 10am / 4am and 11am / 9:30am and 12:30pm / 10am and 1pm)
  • Quarter-finals: 2 matches per day (3am and 9:30am / 9am and 12:30pm)
  • Semi-finals: 1 match per day (10:00 AM and 12:00 PM)
  • Third place match: 10.00 am
  • Final: 12.00 pm

Which TV station broadcasts the Women’s World Cup?

Three months before the start of the tournament, it has not yet been decided which TV station will show the Women’s World Cup matches on German television. So far, neither ARD nor ZDF or any other German broadcaster has been able to reach an agreement with FIFA.

Broadcast rights have yet to be granted in England, Spain and Italy either. Apparently, FIFA wants more money than broadcasters are willing to pay, which is also likely due to the start times – not very high ratings are expected at night and in the morning.

All World Cup matches live on t-online.de

2023 Women’s World Cup stadiums

  • Adelaide (Hindmarsh Stadium)
  • Brisbane (Bisbane Stadium)
  • Melbourne (Melbourne Rectangular Stadium)
  • Perth (Perth Oval)
  • Sydney (Sydney Football Stadium and Australia Stadium)
  • Auckland (Eden Park)
  • Dunedin (Dunedin Stadium)
  • Hamilton (Waikato Stadium)
  • Wellington (Wellington Regional Stadium)

The World Cup begins on July 20, 2023 with the Opening Ceremony and the match between New Zealand and Norway (9 am) at Eden Park in Auckland (New Zealand). The final will be held on August 20 at the Australia Stadium in Sydney (Australia).

World Cup groups at a glance

At the 2023 Women’s World Cup, there will be eight groups of four teams for the first time. The German Confederation’s selection plays in Group H against Morocco, Colombia and South Korea.

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, the Philippines, Switzerland
Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada
Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan
Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China
Group E: USA, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal
Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama
Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy and Argentina
Group H: GermanyMorocco, Colombia and South Korea

2023 Women’s World Cup schedule

When will the team be announced?

The final Germany squad will be decided on 7 July 2023, after the final pre-season match against Zambia. Coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg can nominate 23 players to the team. In addition, other players may travel to Australia and New Zealand who are not in the squad but may be called up in the event of injury.

Who is the most successful team in the history of the Women’s World Cup?

With four titles, the Women’s World Cup, which has been held only since 1991, has been won by the United States, and often (1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019).

The German national team is the second most successful team in history with two titles in 2003 and 2007. Norway (1995) and Japan (2011) have each won the World Cup once.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *