WhatsApp: Users need to know this - Messenger is secretly changing settings

WhatsApp: Users need to know this – Messenger is secretly changing settings

  • FromPhilip Fisher

    Close

The WhatsApp programmers have secretly made a drastic change. What users need to know now.

Mountain View – The central functions of the popular messaging service are used time and time again The WhatsApp* change. WhatsApp recently redesigned an important feature in secret. Like an industry portal Tech Book Blue ticks below voice messages have been reported in Change Center. From now on, these only appear if both partners have enabled a certain setting.

WhatsApp is secretly changing important functions

One of them should note: in order to continue to see the blue tick, that is, the confirmation of reading, under the voice messages, both WhatsApp users must have activated the reading confirmation. This setting can be selected on the Data Protection tab. If one of the conversation partners decides to deactivate the read receipt, the blue tick will not appear again. Only two gray ticks are displayed, indicating that the message was sent and reached to the recipient. This change is for him The WhatsApp* It appears to have been secretly entered on March 11, 2021.

It is possible that the hashtags will not be shown in the future for those who work without a reading receipt for privacy reasons. It is not clear if this change is permanent or just a test. In any case, this step is the logical continuation of the reading conveyance. The separation of read notifications into speech and text was not yet consistent. But as privacy protection becomes more secure, this change might be very popular among WhatsApp users.

READ  50 years of A Clockwork Orange, the movie that frightened even its author - cinema

Stiftung Warentest recommends settings to protect privacy

In order to better protect its privacy and data, Stiftung Warentest recommends WhatsApp users to make some settings. After downloading WhatsApp, every new user must first provide a mobile phone number, their name and, if necessary, a profile picture. What’s not immediately clear unfortunately: Anyone with your phone number can also see your profile picture. To prevent this, additional preparation is required.

To do this, you have to call up the settings in the application. To do this, open the app and select the three dots in the upper right corner. Then first select the Account tab, then Data Protection. You have a number of options below. To restrict the visibility of your profile picture, select the profile picture option. You can now decide whether everyone, your contacts, or no one sees your profile picture. (phf) *Merkur.de It is part of IPPEN.MEDIA.

List of rating lists: © Catherine Waibel / dpa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *