Tour of Belgium: Dane Mads Pedersen wins Maarkedal in first stage

Tour of Belgium: Dane Mads Pedersen wins Maarkedal in first stage

The Alpecin-Fenix ​​rider won the race ahead of Dutchman Dane van Poppel (BORA-hansgrohe) and Dane Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segrafredo), who is still ahead. Six riders, left at the start of the race, led the stage: Yentl Vandevelde (Minerva), Theo Bonnet (Geofco-Doltcini Materiel, Jacob Relaes (Tarteletto-Isorex), Dutchman Yoeri Havik (BEAT), Daan We van Sintmaartensdijks (Volker) and Nick van der Meer (VolkerWessels).

With 30 km remaining, the commander in chief Mads Pedersen had to change the wheels after a puncture.

The leading group was reduced to three units, Vandevelde, Relaes and Havik, who started the last lap of the 19 kilometer domestic circuit with a difference of about twenty seconds on the peloton.

The peloton returned to them 13 km from the line, at the start of the golden kilometer, which brings the extra seconds. Quinten Hermans (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) and Florian Sénéchal (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) took advantage of this, in particular, to earn rewards.

It was decided to win the enemy. Jasper Philipsen was the fastest, ahead of Van Poppel and Pedersen, who retained the captain’s jersey. Arnaud De Lie (Lotto Soudal) finished fourth, ahead of Sasha Weemaes (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise).

Phillipson, 24, achieved his 18th career success, his fourth of the season.

In general, Pedersen is six seconds ahead of Philipsen. Tim Wells (Loto Soudal) finished third with a time of 12 seconds.

On Friday, the riders are waiting for the 11.8 km trial at Scherpenheuvel-Zichem. The Baloise Belgium Tour will end on Sunday in Beringen. Remko Evenpoel, absent this year, won the last two editions in 2019 and 2021.

READ  Tu'inukuafe lands among the Cists

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *