The World Cup for New Zealand is also far in the picture for the women's national team

The World Cup for New Zealand is also far in the picture for the women’s national team

Walter Herrera

[email protected] | Friday, October 22, 2021, 10:58 am

The women’s team lost again, this time in a friendly match against Jamaica in preparation for the World Cup to be held in February of the other year.

The Tricolor fell 1-0 in the first two agreed-upon friendlies in the United States.

With only 30% return, Amelia Valverde, coach of the national teamWe will have the tough test to take us to the New Zealand 2023 World Cup.

rocky road to the world cup

CONCACAF will feature 30 countries, all ranked from third place in CONCACAF down in the latest FIFA/Coca-Cola Women’s World Ranking.

The 30 teams were divided into six groups of five.

Read more: Should Amelia Valverde continue to lead the women’s national team?

After the group stage, where each country will play two home matches and two more matches, the top seed from each group will enter the CONCACAF Women’s Championship to form a roster of 8 teams. In other words, the top six countries in the group will join the two best-ranked countries in CONCACAF, the United States and Canada, who have a straight pass to the final stage.

The eight contestants will be divided into two groups of four. The top two places from each group will qualify for the semi-finals, and most importantly, they will qualify directly for the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

Two-thirds of the group will participate in the all-new FIFA Women’s World Cup continental tournament.

READ MORE: The stats don’t agree with Amelia Valverde for male guidance

READ  French women's rugby team corrects New Zealand

With rivals such as the United States and Canada, with a ticket virtually guaranteed to the World Cup, only two tickets remain in dispute between teams such as Mexico, Panama, Jamaica and Costa Rica.

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will be the ninth edition of the tournament, and the first to feature 32 participating teams.

It will take place in 9 host cities and 10 stadiums in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023.


Group A: Mexico, Puerto Rico, Suriname, Antigua and Barbuda and Anguilla

Group B: Costa Rica, Guatemala, St Kitts and Nevis, the US Virgin Islands and Curaçao

Group C: Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Bermuda, Grenada and the Cayman Islands

Group D: Panama, El Salvador, Barbados, Belize and Aruba

Group E: Haiti, Cuba, Honduras, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and the British Virgin Islands

Group F: Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Nicaragua, Dominica, Turks and Caicos Islands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *