Sam Bird (Jaguar) wins Race 2 of the New York E-Prix

Sam Bird (Jaguar) wins Race 2 of the New York E-Prix

Britain’s Sam Bird (Jaguar) won the second race of the New York e-Prix on Sunday, ahead of New Zealander Nick Cassidy (Virgin) and defending Portuguese Formula E champion Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techtier).

Starting in pole position, Bird had finished in a perfect race four seconds ahead of Cassidy, starting with the FE. The looming Jaguar double didn’t happen when Byrd’s teammate Mitch Evans hit the rails under Cassidy’s pressure.

After arriving, Bird immediately put on the shirt of the Three Lions, the English footballers who will play the Euro final at Wembley against the Italians. This is his second win of the season and he is back in charge of the championship.

Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), second on Saturday, was unable to defend his chances in race 2, due to a mechanical problem from the start, and slipped from third to sixth in the drivers’ standings.

German Maximilian Günther (BMW Andretti), victorious on Saturday in the first race, had to finish 10th, with a consolation point.

There are still two races in London, still in July, and the last one in Berlin, in mid-August, to close out this seventh season of FE. The first to be contested with the prestigious FIA World Championship brand.

New York E-Prix Race 2 rating, Sunday:
1. Sam Bird (GBR/Jaguar), 37 rounds at 46 minutes 15 seconds 909/1000
2. Nick Cassidy (NZL / Envision Virgin) at 4.167
3. Antonio Felix da Costa (POR / DS Techeetah) 4,840
4. Pascal Wehrlein (GER/Porsche) 7,154
5. Andre Lotterer (GER / Porsche) 7.762
6. Alexander Sims (GBR / Mahindra) at 16.286
7. Norman Nato (FRA / Rokit Venturi) at 24.983
8. Robin Frijns (NED / Envision Virgin) 25,084
9. Alex Lane (UK / Mahindra) 25.405
10. Max Gunther (GER / BMW Andretti) 26,009

Retirement: Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/DS Techeetah), mechanical problem (1st cycle)

READ  Are the All Blacks afraid of the Blues?

Drivers’ Championship standings after 11 rounds (out of 15):
1. Sam Bird (Great Britain) 81 points
2. Antonio Felix da Costa 76 points
3. Robin Frijns (NED) 76 points
4. Eduardo Mortara (Switzerland) 72 points
5. Nick Cassidy (New Zealand) 70 pts
6. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) 68 points
7. Rene Rast (Germany) 61 points
8. Mitch Evans (New Zealand) 60 pts
9. Pascal Wehrlein 60 points
10. Nick de Vries (NED) 59 points

21- Norman NATO 17 points

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *