Rugby World Cup: New Zealander Ardie Savea was named Player of the Year

Rugby World Cup: New Zealander Ardie Savea was named Player of the Year

The day after the final Rugby World Cup won by South Africa against the All Blacks (12-11) On Saturday, New Zealand third-row player Ardi Savea was crowned the 2023 Player of the Year at the World Rugby Awards held in Paris. The 30-year-old was competing against South African second row Eben Etzeth, Irish center Bondi Aki and French scrum-half. Anthony DuPont, Who won this distinction in 2021.

Ardie Savea was selected by A A jury composed of former international expertsHe succeeds another third row on the list, the Irishman Josh van der Flier. “I really appreciated his development and impact on the team last season. They were in difficulty and he, along with Sam Keane, embodied the leadership of the All Blacks through his influence in the group and on the field.“, former Blues captain Thierry Dusautoire confirmed to several media outlets including Agence France-Presse.

Another New Zealander has distinguished himself in the Opéra Garnier’s coveted setting: the Pavilion Mark Tilia, this year’s global revelation. He made three tries during the World Cup, and the 26-year-old was preferred over French winger Louis-Pierre Pierre (20).

France, knocked out in the quarter-finals of its World Cup and second in the Six Nations behind Ireland, is the most represented nation, tied with Ireland, in This year’s model teamWith five players: left corner Cyril Bailly, third row Charles Ollivon, scrum-half Antoine Dupont, winger Damien Benaud and full-back Thomas Ramos.

READ  Three red lions and their coach nominated for the titles of the best player, goalkeeper and coach of the season - other sports

Oddly enough, there is only one world champion from South Africa appearing there: second row Eben Etzebeth. Even the title of coach of the year eludes Springbok coach Jack Nienaber, ahead of Andy Farrell, who led Ireland to the Grand Slam in the tournament.

The only accolade awarded by a public vote, the Try of the Year award, goes to powerful Scottish winger Duhan van der Merwe for his personal exploits against England earlier in the tournament. the Women’s awards Rugby union championships will be awarded later, at the end of the WXV, a new international tournament created by World Rugby, which will end on 4 November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *