IndyCar: Scott Dixon wins in Toronto

IndyCar: Scott Dixon wins in Toronto

Scott Dixon finds success. On Sunday, the New Zealander won the Toronto Grand Prix for the fourth time in his career. At almost 42 years old, he held off American Colton Herta and Swede Felix Rosenqvist to claim his 52nd IndyCar win (record holder for number of wins remaining is AJ Foyt, with 67 victories). However, the New Zealander now holds as many Indycar victories as American champion Mario Andretti.

Frenchmen Simon Pagenaud and Romain Grosjean finished seventh and sixteenth in the race.

Dixon, fourth overall

The lessons learned from this success are numerous. Combined with a win that was his first since May 2021, at Texas Motor Speedway, Dixon became the seventh 10-round winner of the year and won at least one race for the 18th consecutive season.

The six-time IndyCar champion and winner of the Indianapolis 500 in 2008 moved up to fourth in the general classification, tied with Josef Newgarden (307 points), in a classification still dominated by Swede Marcus Ericsson (351 points). Bauer (316 points) and Ballou (314 points) complete the podium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *