France-New Zealand: Was there a lead in the All Blacks' second try?

France-New Zealand: Was there a lead in the All Blacks' second try?

This is the question that burned the lips of all France XV fans at the start of the second half during the opening match against the All Blacks. Was New Zealand's second try, scored by Mark Tilia early in the second half, valid? However, this is the decision made by Jaco Pepper, giving the New Zealanders a four-point lead.

After watching the slow motion again on the stadium screens, the 80,000 spectators at the Stade de France screamed. Damien Benaud, the last defender, who stopped believing the pass was illegal, also expressed his displeasure. Because it seems clear that the ball's arrival point is farther than its starting point. But this does not necessarily mean that Riko Ionei's pass was forward.

As we can see in the video below, a pass that reaches further than the starting point is not necessarily a striker. This is particularly due to the principle of inertia, which means that the ball can continue to move forward slightly even though the passer is sending it backwards. Referees base their decision on a range of factors, including the position of the hands at the time of the pass and the intention to play well at the back.

However, it is difficult to determine whether it was Riko Ioane's forward pass or the principle of inertia that played a role. Regardless, Jaco Bieber decided to award the try, as did the video referee, who did not intervene. A blow to the head of the blues.

READ  Discover Eco-Challenge Fiji, the toughest race in the world (and that's no lie!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *