FC Bayern, Mercedes and Kick Formor nominated

FC Bayern, Mercedes and Kick Formor nominated

Another prize for Bayern Munich?

Under coach Hansi Flick, the six-year winner was nominated at the Laureus World Sports Awards in the “Team of the Year” category.

Bayern should beat Jürgen Klopp and Liverpool FC, among others. World footballer Robert Lewandowski could also win another award as Sportsman of the Year.

Bayern Munich, Lewandowski and Mercedes are hoping to win the Laureus Prize

A total of three prizes can be awarded to Germany: in addition to Bavaria and its attacking star, world champion carmakers Mercedes-AMG Petronas from Formula 1 and the KICKFORMORE initiative from Stuttgart and the Rhein Neckar region have been nominated.

The Laureus Awards will be presented at the end of May, but there will be no big party due to the Corona pandemic, instead a hypothetical event is planned.

Candidates were chosen by 1,000 of the world’s largest sports reporters. The winners will be decided by 69 sporting legends from Laureus Academy.

Sports 1 All nominations appear in an overview:

Laureus World Athlete of the Year Award

Joshua Chiptiji (Uganda, long distance runner, world record over 5,000 and 10,000 meters)
Armand Duplantes (Sweden, pole vault, world record)
Lewis Hamilton (England, Formula 1, world record champion, equally with Michael Schumacher)
LeBron James (USA, NBA, 4th time champion with Los Angeles Lakers)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, football, hat-trick with Bayern Munich)
Rafael Nadal (Spain, Tennis, 20 Grand Slam titles, tied with Roger Federer)

Laureus International Women’s Sports Award of the Year

Anna van der Bregen (Netherlands, cycling, two-time world champion)
Federica Brignone (Italy, alpine skiing, World Cup winner overall)
Brigid Kosji (Kenya, long distance runner, London Marathon winner)
Naomi Osaka (Japan, tennis, three Grand Slam wins at age 22)
Wendy Renard (France, football, fifth successive win with Olympique Lyon)
Breanna Stewart (USA, WNBA, Champion and Finals MVP)

Best Global Team Award in Laureus

Argentina (national rugby team, first victory over New Zealand All Blacks)
Bayern Munich (three times the UEFA Champions League, the Championship and the DFB Cup)
Liverpool FC (first championship in 30 years under coach Jürgen Klopp)
Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One team (7th in a row constructors’ championship, record)
Kansas City Chiefs (2020 NFL Champion, first Super Bowl win since 1970

Laureus Worldwide Breakthrough Award of the Year

Ansu Fati (Spain, football, youngest goalscorer in El Clásico)
Patrick Mahomes (USA, NFL, Super Bowl champion, dead 24)
Joan Mir (Spain, motorcyclist, MotoGP champion at age 23 and junior)
Tadej Bogacar (Slovenia, cycling, Tour de France 21 winner)
Iga Swiatek (Poland, tennis, French Open 19 winner)
Dominic Thiem (Austria, Tennis, first US Open win against Alexander Zverev)

Laureus World Award, which is back for the year

Daniel Bard (USA, MLB, comeback after a seven-year hiatus due to Yips)
Kento Momota (Japan, badminton, eye injury in a car accident)
Alex Morgan (USA, football, back 184 days after the birth of their daughter)
Max Parrott (Canada, Skateboard, Gold at X Games after chemotherapy)
Michaela Schiffrin (USA, alpine skiing, a break and a comeback after the death of a father)
Alex Smith (USA, NFL, back 728 days after a life-threatening leg injury)

Laureus Sport has a good award

Boxgirls (Kenya, training for girls and women in Nairobi)
Columbianitus Foundation (Colombia, football and rugby for boys and girls in Bogotá)
Formor Cake (Germany, a fair game of football with a focus on refugees in Stuttgart and the Rhein-Neckar region)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *