Afghanistan: Joint Statement on the Status of Women and Girls

The declaration was signed jointly by Albania, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, North Macedonia, Norway, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, the United Kingdom and the Dominican Republic. Senegal, the United States of America, Switzerland and the European Union.

We are deeply concerned about Afghan women and girls, their rights to education, work and freedom of movement. We call on those in positions of power and authority across Afghanistan to ensure their protection.

Afghan women and girls, like all Afghan citizens, have the right to live in safety and dignity. All forms of discrimination and abuse must be prevented. In the international community, we are ready to help them in the form of humanitarian aid and support, so that we can hear their voice.

We will be watching closely how the future government guarantees the rights and freedoms that have become an integral part of the lives of women and girls in Afghanistan over the past two decades.

Candidate Countries Montenegro and Serbia[1]This declaration is supported by the SAB country and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia.

[1] Montenegro and Serbia continue to participate in the stabilization and association process.

READ  In New Zealand, the first concert was held for 50,000 people without a mask

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.