World Rugby Awards: New Zealander Ardie Savea voted 2023 World Rugby Player of the Year

World Rugby Awards: New Zealander Ardie Savea voted 2023 World Rugby Player of the Year

New Zealander Ardie Savea was named FIFA World Player of the Year for 2023 during the World Rugby Awards, which was organized on Sunday 29 October in Paris the day after the World Cup final won by South Africa against the All Blacks (12-11).

The 30-year-old third-row center was competing against South African second-row Eben Etzeth, Irish center Bende Ake and French scrum-half Antoine Dupont, who won that distinction in 2021.

Central to New Zealand’s journey to the 2023 World Cup final and Rugby Championship win, Savea, who was selected by a judging panel of former international players, follows another player in the list of third-row winners, Ireland’s Josh van der Flier.

“I really appreciated his development and impact on the team last season. They were struggling and he, along with Sam Keane, embodied the leadership of the All Blacks through his influence in the group and on the field,” stressed the former. Blues captain Thierry Dusautoir told several media outlets including AFP.

The legend added, “He is always moving forward, with the ball in his hand, in defense, in the lines… It is important to have a player like this. Just yesterday, he was really impressive. Unfortunately, he will not be a world champion.” (80 selections between 2006 and 2015).

World Cup: South Africa is unique in the world after its victory over New Zealand (12-11)

He is the sixth All Black to become FIFA Player of the Year after Richie McCaw (2006, 2009, 2010), Dan Carter (2005, 2012, 2015), Kieran Reid (2013), Brodie Retallick (2014) and Beauden Barrett (2016). , 2017).

READ  Pucci, Italy dominate the World Cup in Alassio! They're gone already, but it's not over... - OA Sport

Another New Zealander has distinguished himself in the prestigious setting of the Opera Garnier: the suite Marc Tilia, this year’s global revelation. He made three tries during the World Cup, and the 26-year-old was preferred over French winger Louis-Pierre Pierre (20).

Five Frenchmen in the model team

France, knocked out in the quarter-finals of ‘their’ World Cup and second in the Six Nations behind Ireland, is the most represented nation, tied with Ireland, in the Model Team of the Year, with five players: left-wing column Cyril Bailly. And third row Charles Ollivon, scrum-half Antoine Dupont, winger Damian Benaud and full-back Thomas Ramos.

Oddly enough, there is only one world champion from South Africa appearing there: second row Eben Etzebeth. Even the title of coach of the year eludes Springbok coach Jack Nienaber, ahead of Andy Farrell, who led Ireland to the Grand Slam in the tournament.

The only accolade awarded by a public vote, the Try of the Year award, goes to powerful Scottish winger Duhan van der Merwe for his personal exploits against England earlier in the tournament.

The Women’s Rugby Union Awards will be presented later, at the end of the WXV Championship, a new international tournament created by World Rugby, which ends on 4 November.

With Agence France-Presse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *