Why do the flags of Australia and New Zealand look the same?

Why do the flags of Australia and New Zealand look the same?

The Australian flag, as it is known today, was adopted in 1909. It is based on the British state ensign, the Blue Ensign. The flag of Australia features a blue background and the flag of the United Kingdom in the upper left corner. There is a seven-pointed star below the Union Jack and five other stars on the right side, including a five-pointed star and four seven-pointed stars. The creation of the New Zealand flag dates back to 1869. Like the Australian flag, it is based on the Blue Ensign, but the symbols are not the same. The flag of New Zealand features four red five-pointed stars on the right side.

The British flag, known as the Union Jack, appears at the top left of the flags of Australia and New Zealand. In the case of Australia, it symbolizes Colonial history of the country Which began in 1768 with Captain James Cook. The first British colony was called New South Wales. It was not until 1901 that Australia gained independence and established the Commonwealth of Australia. On the flag of New Zealand, the presence of the Union Jack also represents the country's colonial past. In 1840, the Treaty of Waitangi signed between representatives of the British Crown and Maori chiefs declared the country's independence New Zealand As a British colony. The country became an independent state in 1947.

On the Australian flag, the seven-pointed white star under the Union Jack represents (…)

(…) Click here to see more

READ  New Zealand plans to drop the "All Whites" name

What is the difference between a mistral and a tramontane?
How long does a basketball game last?
These are the fastest trains in the world
Yes, young people read much less than their elders, according to one study
Where do the names of the planets in the solar system come from?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *