The United States, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and Britain form a group to strengthen relations in the Pacific

(Reuters) – The United States, Australia, Japan, New Zealand and the United Kingdom have formed an informal group aimed at strengthening economic and diplomatic relations with Pacific island nations, the House of Representatives said on Friday.

The group, called Partners in the Blue Ocean (PBP), will support Pacific regionalism and strengthen economic ties between the Pacific islands and the rest of the world.

“We are united in our resolve to support a region that benefits the peoples of the Pacific. We are also united in how we achieve this vision—in accordance with the principles of Pacific territoriality, sovereignty, transparency, accountability and, above all, under the leadership and direction of the Pacific Islands,” the White House said. Quiet”.

The Biden administration has pledged additional resources to the Indo-Pacific region as China seeks to strengthen its economic, military, and security ties with Pacific nations.

(Report by Garrett Renshaw, French version by Camille Raynaud)

READ  Flying taxis are coming to New Zealand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *