The sources said the European Union will reimpose an entry ban on travelers from the United States and five other countries on Monday

The sources said the European Union will reimpose an entry ban on travelers from the United States and five other countries on Monday

Two officials from the European Union institutions confirmed to Reuters that the European Union Council will announce on Monday its decision to remove a total of six countries from the list of third countries that are epidemiologically safe, including the United States.

Removal from the list means that member states are advised to reimpose entry bans on travelers from these countries so that they are no longer able to take advantage of unrestricted entry for non-essential purposes such as tourism and business.

According to Reuters, the decision to re-ban US travelers was made on Friday, August 27, but will not be officially announced until Monday, August 30. The full list of affected countries is as follows:

  • Israel
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • the black Mountain
  • North Macedonia
  • United States of America

All six have recently reported an increase in the number of coronavirus cases detected in their territory.

In the United States, which has a population of 328.2 million, a total of 381,58495 cases have been detected since the beginning of the epidemic, of which 169,512 were in the past 24 hours, according to data from the World Health Organization.

While Israel, which has so far vaccinated about 80% of its population of 328.2 million, recorded 8,078 cases during the past 24 hours, bringing the number of infected people since the outbreak began to 1,031,810.

Due to the increase in the number of cases, reported days ago that Americans will again be banned from entering the European Union for non-essential purposes.

The EU List of Epidemiologically Safe Third Countries is a list of non-EU/EEA countries that are considered safe during the coronavirus pandemic due to low infection rates and advises member states to reopen borders to non-essential travelers. from these areas.

READ  Antarctica, a record iceberg appeared. New Zealand: Let's rebuild the base

The list is reviewed every two weeks and member states are not legally obligated to implement it. For the purposes of this recommendation, residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are considered to be residents of the European Union.

The first list was released on June 30, 2020, while it was last revised on July 15, 2021, when Ukraine was added.

It currently consists of the following 23 countries: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Montenegro, New Zealand, Qatar, Moldova, North Macedonia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine and the United States, as well as China, which remains subject to the reciprocity confirmation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.