The puzzle for Danny Hay

The puzzle for Danny Hay

New Zealand coach Danny Hay has presented his 30-man squad for the 2022 World Cup qualifiers in Qatar.

Danny Hay won’t be able to count on all of his international players during the Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifiers. Even orphaned by some executives, the team ranked one hundred and eleven in the FIFA rankings shouldn’t lose much of a feather in this head-dominating peripheral association and shoulders, but the coach will have to juggle according to the arrivals and departures.

From March 17, in Doha, Qatar will host the Ocean Qualifiers for a place in the international play-off – against the fourth in the CONCACAF Zone – in hopes of winning a ticket to the World Cup. The all eggs subordinate New Zealand They are the last representatives of Oceania to participate in the World Cup (in 2010).

To make up his team, Danny Hay had to deal with the fact that FIFA considers qualification to the World Cup not to be an international window for Oceania. Thus, clubs are not obligated to leave players with their countries. So there are three types of players between all eggs : 11 of them will be able to play five matches (three group stage matches, a possible semi-final and the final), 12 will arrive on 19 March and seven of them will have to return to their clubs from 22 March. Then there is the injured, Sarpreet Singh (Bayern Munich) and Elliot Collier (San Antonio), as well as the Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory) case that the Australian club wanted to keep for the AFC Champions League.

READ  Three reasons to watch the Blues in New Zealand

For those who will be there. Oliver Seal will finally be able to push the doors of choice just like his teammate, Ben Wayne. Danny Hay will call up the Costa Barbaros team again, as he has not been called up since 2017 and lost the international match to a team Peru for the World Cup in Russia.

List of New Zealand 30

Guardians: Matt Gold (Altrincham FC), Stefan Marinovic (Hapoel Nof HaGalil FC), Jimmy Searle (Swansea City AFC U23) and Oliver Seale (Wellington Phoenix).

Defenders: Nico Boxal (San Diego Loyal SC), Francis de Vries (IFK Varnamo), Nico Kirwan (Calcio Padova), Winston Reed (no club), Liberato Cacas (Empoli FC), Tim Payne (Wellington Phoenix), Nando Bignaker (Sligo Rovers) FF C), Bill Tuiluma (Portland Timbers), Dean Ingham (Newcastle Jets) and Dalton Wilkins (Kolding IF).

Midfielders: Matthew Garbet (Torino U19), Cameron Howison (Auckland City), Joe Bell (Brondby IF), Marco Stamenek (HP Kog) and Clayton Lewis (Wellington Phoenix).

Attackers: Joseph Champons (Gerson Spurs), Andre De Jong (Amazolo FC), Logan Rogerson (FC Hakka), Alex Greve (St Mirren FC), Elijah Guest (FC Helsingor), Callum Makwat (FC Helsingor), Chris Wood (Newcastle United), Costa Barbarosses (Sydney FC), Benjamin Old (Wellington Phoenix) and Ben Wayne (Wellington Phoenix).

… will be available throughout the competition (11)

Nico Boxall, Joseph Champs, Andre de Jong, Francis de Vries, Matthew Garbet, Matt Gold, Cameron Howison, Nico Kirwan, Winston Reed, Logan Rogerson and Tommy Smith.

… will arrive from March 19 (12)

Joe Bell, Liberato Kacas, Alex Grieve, Ilya Guest, Stefan Marinovic, Callum McCuat, Tim Payne, Nando Bejnacker, Jimmy Searle, Marco Stamenek, Bill Tuiluma and Chris Wood

READ  New Zealand is the new leader in the rugby world rankings

… will leave from March 22 (7)

Costa Barbarossa, Dean Ingham, Clayton Lewis, Benjamin Old, Oliver Seal, Benjamin Wayne, Dalton Wilkins


Antoine Blanchett Quirin

author: Antoine Blanchett Quirin

Australian Football Correspondent (Socceroos, A-League, FFA Cup, NPL) in France for Lucarne Opposée.

More articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *