Olaf Koeg maintains his advantage with his fourth win in as many stages

Olaf Koeg maintains his advantage with his fourth win in as many stages

Dutchman Olaf Kooij (Jumbo-Visma) continued his dominance of the Tour of Great Britain (2.Pro) during Wednesday’s fourth stage, a 166.6km race from Sherwood Forest to Newark-on-Trent. In the sprint race he beat compatriot Casper van Ouden (DSM-firmenich) and Briton Ethan Vernon. Milan Fretin (Flanders-Paloise) took fourth place and David Pomboy (TDT-Unibet) took tenth place.

After winning all the first four stages, Quigg leads the general classification. At the same time follow Vernon, German Max Kanter (Movistar), Wout van Aert, and Davide Bomboy.

Abram Stockman (TDT-Unibet) was part of the morning breakaway, along with fellow Briton Harry Tanfield and New Zealander James Foucher (Bolton Equities Black Spoke). Fouch√© was content to take points at the top of the day’s classified climbers in order to cement his jersey as best climber, before allowing himself to be caught by the peloton.

Stockman and Tanfield teamed up to resist the return of the group led by Jumbo-Visma. They were caught 27 kilometers from the finish, helpless against the teams of sprinters and general classification favorites.

Once again, Wout van Aert started the race from a distance, leaving the other test fish in his wake and depositing Kooij in an armchair. The 21-year-old Dutchman had no choice but to finish the race to achieve his fourth consecutive victory in the race, the 26th victory in his career, and the eleventh this season.

READ  Women's football, the Italian trio against Croatia. Blue with all points in World Qualifiers - OA Sport

The fifth stage will start on Thursday with a distance of 192.4 kilometers around Felixstowe. You should smile back at the runners, like the sixth stage. The seventh and eighth decisive stages are scheduled to allow the general classification candidates to compete for the final victory on Saturday and Sunday. Spaniard Gonzalo Serrano is the defending champion, behind Van Aert on the list of winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *