Nour El Sherbini et Ali Farag à nouveau champions du monde

Nour El-Sherbiny and Ali Farag are world champions again

The National Museum of Civilization in Cairo was coming to life May 13-22, hosting the men’s and women’s PSA squash tournament. On Sunday, May 22nd, the glass stadium, specially designed for the competition, was full of fans who came to support 4 Egyptians competing in the men’s and women’s finals. For the second time in a row, Egypt dominates the Men’s and Women’s World Squash Championships. Nour El-Sherbiny and Ali Farag were crowned world champions after defeating Nouran Gohar and Mohamed El-Shorbagy, respectively. Both finals are repeats of the finals of the last edition of the World Championships in Chicago in 2021 and the winners remain the same.

A 6And Sherbini’s nickname

It’s the sixth time Nour El-Sherbiny, World No. 2, has won the PSA Women’s World Champion title, after winning 7-11, 11-7, 11-8, 11-7 in 56 minutes over the n World. No. 1 Nouran Gohar. The win puts her second on the list of most successful players, trailing only Malaysian icon Nicole David, who holds the record for eight world titles. ” I am very happy with this title which was very difficult to win. Nouran is the best player at the moment, every match is a challenge. I’m proud of my performance and I’m striving for new titles Sherbini said after receiving the cup.

In fact, El Sherbini’s path was very special. In the first round, she beat Spain’s Cristina Gomez (3-0), then beat Egypt’s Kenzi Ayman (3-0) in the second round, and Belgium’s Tine Gillis (3-0) in the third round. In the quarter-finals, the world champion continued her momentum by defeating Englishman Sarah Jane Berry (3-1), before defeating her compatriot Nour Al-Tayeb (3-1) in the semi-finals.

READ  Then Joseph Parker called Dillian White or Joe Joyce: "I can hit any of them!" | Sky News boxing news

Faraj drops by 3And world title

On the men’s side, Ali Farag, World No. 2, won his third PSA World Championship title after defeating fellow countryman Mohamed El Shorbagy, World No. 3, (3-2), 9-11, 11-8, 7-11. , 11-9, 11-2 at 74 minutes. In fact, this finale was impressive. It was El Shorbagy who took the lead early in the match, but Faraj came back strong with his speed and superior physical condition, and ended up winning the match against the 2017 world champion.” I am very proud of my week, my journey has been very difficult. I had to beat some strong players to get to the final, and today I’m playing against the greatest player of our generation. I’m so lucky to be on top today In the first round, Farag won his match 3-0, respectively, against the Mexicans Lionel Cardenas and Cesar Salazar, as well as the Egyptian Youssef Ibrahim. In the quarter-finals, he continued his momentum by defeating his compatriot Marwan El Shorbagy with the same score, before defeating Over his compatriot Mostafa Assal 3-2 in the semi-finals after a very difficult match. With this world title, Farag replaces New Zealander Paul Cole and becomes No. 1 in the men’s world rankings for the month of June. Thus, the Egyptians continue their dominance of the world squash, after their victories in these worlds in total. $1,100,000.

Egyptian winners in the World Championships


2003: Amr Shabana

2005: Amr Shabana

2007: Amr Shabana

2008: Ramy Ashour

2009: Amr Shabana

2012: Ramy Ashour

READ  Dave Brailsford takes on a new role as Director of Sports at Ineos

2014: Ramy Ashour

2016: Karim Abdel Gawad

2017: Mohamed El Shorbagy

2019: Ali Farag

2020: Tariq Momen

2021: Ali Farag

2022: Ali Farag


2015: Nour El Sherbini

2016: Nour El Sherbini

2017: Raneem El Welily

2019: Nour El Sherbini

2020: Nour El Sherbini

2021: Nour El Sherbini

2022: Nour El Sherbini

short link:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.