New Zealander Ardie Savea was named FIFA World Player of the Year

New Zealander Ardie Savea was named FIFA World Player of the Year

During the World Rugby Awards, organized the day after the World Cup Final, New Zealander Ardie Savea was named the 2023 FIFA World Player of the Year. A model squad was also unveiled, where we find five French internationals including Antoine Dupont.

New Zealander Ardie Savea was awarded the 2023 World Player of the Year award at the World Rugby Awards, which was organized on Sunday in Paris, a day after the World Cup final, which South Africa won over the All Blacks (12-11). The 30-year-old third-row center was competing against South African second-row Eben Etzeth, Irish center Bende Ake and French scrum-half Antoine Dupont, who won that distinction in 2021.

An expert jury made up of former international players

Essential in New Zealand’s journey to the tournament final 2023 World Cup and Rugby Championship win Savea, chosen by a jury made up of former international players, succeeds another third-row winner, Irishman Josh van der Flier. “I really appreciated his development and impact on the team last season. They were struggling and he, along with Sam Keane, embodied the leadership of the All Blacks through his influence in the group and on the field,” stressed the former. Blues captain Thierry Dusautoir told several media outlets including AFP.

The legend added: “He is always moving forward, with the ball in his hand; in defence, in the ranks… It is important to have a player like this. Yesterday (Saturday) again he was really impressive. Unfortunately, he will not be a world champion.” (80 selections between 2006 and 2015).

The sixth was crowned all black

He is the sixth All Black to become FIFA Player of the Year after Richie McCaw (2006, 2009, 2010), Dan Carter (2005, 2012, 2015), Kieran Reid (2013), Brodie Retallick (2014) and Beauden Barrett (2016). , 2017). Another New Zealander has distinguished himself in the prestigious setting of the Opera Garnier: the suite Marc Tilia, this year’s global revelation. He made three tries during the World Cup, and the 26-year-old was preferred over French winger Louis-Pierre Pierre (20).

France, knocked out in the quarter-finals of ‘their’ World Cup and second in the Six Nations behind Ireland, is the most represented nation, tied with Ireland, in the Model Team of the Year, with five players: left-wing column Cyril Bailly. And third row Charles Ollivon, scrum-half Antoine Dupont, winger Damian Benaud and full-back Thomas Ramos.

Only one South African world champion is on the record team

Oddly enough, there is only one world champion from South Africa appearing there: second row Eben Etzebeth. Even the title of coach of the year eludes Springbok coach Jack Nienaber, ahead of Andy Farrell, who led Ireland to the Grand Slam in the tournament.

The only accolade awarded by a public vote, the Try of the Year award, goes to powerful Scottish winger Duhan van der Merwe for his personal exploits against England earlier in the tournament. The Women’s Rugby Union Awards will be presented later, at the end of the WXV Championship, a new international tournament created by World Rugby, which ends on 4 November.

READ  Sea level rise limits adaptation options

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *