Mitch Evans won the Jakarta ePrix, with Jean-Eric Vergne finishing second

Mitch Evans won the Jakarta ePrix, with Jean-Eric Vergne finishing second

New Zealander Mitch Evans won the Jakarta E-Prix on Saturday. Having held first place and longtime race leader, Jean-Eric Vergne finished second.

Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah) has yet to win an ePrix this season. On Saturday in Jakarta, Indonesia – where there was only one race on the program this weekend – the French driver finished second to New Zealander Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS). The latter achieved his third victory of the season, after his double success in Rome, in April.

Read also

race classification

Record holder Verne Bull

However, Vergne was not far from winning at the Indonesian circuit. He has already started his day significantly, by taking center stage. It was the 15th time in his career that the Frenchman had dominated the qualifying rounds of the ePrix, which is now a new Formula E record. Jean-Eric Vergne then essentially led most of the race.

French team driver DS Techeetah used his second attack mode 25 minutes after the end of the ePrix. Mitch Evans, who was hot on the Frenchman’s heels, started it when there were only 13 minutes left in the race, but failed to get ahead of Virginie. The latter seemed headed for victory, when Evans finally surprised him with a pass, seven minutes into the finish.

Read also

Everything new from Formula E.

Da Costa at the foot of the podium

The New Zealander was able to keep the ePrix controls until their end. On the last lap, the DS Techeetah led by Jean-Eric Vergne had less power than his rivals. However, the French driver managed to retain second place, ahead of Swiss Edoardo Mortara (Venturi Racing).

READ  Sailing - Corona outbreak halts America's Cup Challenger - sport

Portugal’s Antonio Felix da Costa, the other driver of Dorz Tshitah, finished first on the podium ahead of Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes), the world championship leader. Jean-Eric Vergne is second in this classification, five points behind Vandoorne. The next online forum will be held in Marrakesh (Morocco) on 2 July.

Read also

Tournament general classification

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.