Last year, Antoine Dupont was nominated for the Best Player of the Year 2022

Last year, Antoine Dupont was nominated for the Best Player of the Year 2022

Capped off in 2021, one half of the Drunken Blues will be aiming to pass two, like Richie McCaw and Boden Barrett before him.

He will defend his title as the best player in the world. Today, Monday, the Rugby World Championship revealed the shortlist of players nominated for the 2022 Player of the Year title. And Antoine Dupont Part of this list along with South African center Lukhanyo Am are two Irish openers Jonathan Sexton (2018 title) and third row Josh Van der Vlieer. As a reminder, half of Stade Toulouse was crowned the best player in the world last year, becoming the third French player to receive this distinction after. Fabian Galthi (2002) and Thierry Dusautoir (2011).

With the fifteenth from France, Antoine Dupont is undefeated in 2022, ahead of facing Japan on Sunday at Stade Toulouse (2pm CEST). against Australia and South Africa, Tricolor number 9 was less impressive It is usual, especially scrapingRed card against the Springboks for a mid-air foul on Cheslin Kolbe. Wednesday will determine the period of his suspension.

Galthié is also named

After becoming the leader of the Blues, this year he achieved the Grand Slam at the beginning of the year, the first for France since 2010. He also signed on Saturday Prestigious success against world champions South Africa (30-26).a year after beating the All Blacks at the Stade de France.

Only two players have been voted FIFA World Player of the Year two years in a row: New Zealanders Richie McCaw (2009, 2010) and Boden Barrett (2016, 2017). The Rugby World Championship will award its trophies to Monaco this year next Sunday. Fabian Galthi is also among the candidates for the title of Best Coach in 2022.

READ  New Zealand at the Rugby World Cup: The All Blacks' extraordinary haka

List of candidates:

player of the year
Sophie De Guidi (Canada)
Ruahei Demant (NZL)
Alex Matthews (England)
Laura Sansos (France)
Portia Woodman (New Zealand)

player of the year
Lukhanyo Am (RSA)
Antoine Dupont (FRA)
Johnny Sexton (IRE)
Josh Van Der Vlaer (IRE)

Coach of the Year
Andy Farrell (Ireland)
Fabien Galthi (France)
Simon Middleton (England women’s national team)
Wayne Smith (New Zealand women)

The female revelation of the year
Maud Muir (England)
Vitalina Nikur (IFJ)
Mayakawanakulani Ross (New Zealand)
Ruby Toy (New Zealand)

The masculine revelation of the year
Henry Arundel (England)
Angel Capuzzo (ITA)
Mark Hansen (IRE)
Dan Sheehan (IRE)

Women’s article of the year
Sylvia Brunt (New Zealand v Wales Oct 16)
Emily Chancellor (Australia vs England October 30)
Linda Djougang (Ireland v Wales, March 26)
Nomawethu Mabenge (South Africa, against Spain on August 12)

Male article of the year
Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile vs USA July 9)
Chris Harris (Scotland, against Italy, March 12)
Eduardo Padovani (Italy v Wales, March 19)
Louis Rhys-Zammit (Wales v South Africa, July 2)

Rugby 7s Player of the Year
Charlotte Kaslick (Australia)
Madison Levy (Australia)
Amy Lee Murphy Crowe (IRE)
Faith Nathan (Australia)

Rugby 7s Player of the Year
Terry Kennedy (IRE)
Nick Maalouf (Australia)
Kaminieli Rasaku (IJF)
Corey Toole (Australia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *