Joe Biden will speak with allies on Monday to "coordinate" the response

Joe Biden will speak with allies on Monday to “coordinate” the response

Discussions will take place at 5:15 pm Paris time. The identity of the participants has not been determined.

US President Joe Biden will meet on a conference call with allies and partners on Monday to discuss “developments” in Russia’s offensive in Ukraine and “coordinate” a “united response,” the White House said.

The press release did not identify the participants in these discussions, which will take place at 5:15 pm Paris time (4:15 pm GMT).

G7 ready to take “other measures”

On Sunday, the Group of Seven nations – Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Britain and the United States – warned they would take “additional measures” on top of already announced sanctions if Russia did not halt its military operations. The head of US diplomacy, Anthony Blinken, asserted that all members of the G7 were “completely allied” against the Russian offensive.

Russian President Vladimir Putin also announced, on Sunday, that he is putting the Russian army’s “deterrence force” on alert, which may include a nuclear component, an escalation that Washington described as “completely unacceptable.”

The United Nations meets in the General Assembly

Russia has become an international pariah since its military began invading Ukraine last Thursday. It faces a barrage of sanctions, including bans from western airspace and major financial networks.

The UN General Assembly opens on Monday, 4pm Paris time (3pm GMT), which will begin debating a resolution condemning the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

READ  France threatens to leave if Bamako resorts to Russian mercenaries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.