International – Scott Barrett new captain, Patrick Tupoluto returns: New Zealand group for summer tour

International – Scott Barrett new captain, Patrick Tupoluto returns: New Zealand group for summer tour

The New Zealand squad has been called up for the summer tour and the Rugby Championship was revealed this morning. Scott Barrett will captain the All Blacks while Patrick Tupoluto returns from the Blues second row in the Black Jacket.

We left them at the Stade de France. Just over seven months ago, on October 28, New Zealand lost by a narrow point in the World Cup final Against South Africa, 12-11. Since then, some things have changed. Ian Foster made way for Scott Robertston in the selection process, but most importantly of all the All Blacks saw a host of notable players end their international careers, including Aaron Smith, Sam Whitlock and Sam Keane.

For this first squad of 2024, Scott Robertson is still relying on continuity, with just five starters: George Bell, Basilio Tosi, Wallace Setiti, Cortez Rathema and Billy Protor. On the other hand, Patrick Tupoluto, the second Blues player, who recently won the Super Rugby title, returns to the long white cloud country squad. He hasn't worn the black jacket since October 29, 2022. Just like TJ Perenara, the Hurricanes are back in half to make up for the absence of Aaron Smith. Finally, one of the big questions was who would take over the captaincy from Sam Keane. For this summer tour, Scott Barrett was chosen. His brother Jordi and Ardi Savea were appointed vice-captains.

Reminder, New Zealand will host England on 6 and 13 July before the Fiji Challenge a week later. It is clear that they will participate In the rugby tournamentfrom August 10 to September 28.

READ  Manny Filho, the most New Zealand blues

Full New Zealand squad:


Asafo Omo, Cody Taylor, George Bell, Ethan de Groot, Tyrell Lomax, Fletcher Newell, Basilio Tosi, Ofa Tongafasi, Tamiti Williams, Scott Barrett, Topo Faye, Patrick Tuipolo, Ihan Blackadder, Samebibe Finau, Luke Jacobson, Dalton Babali, Ardi Savea, Wallace Cityte.

Retarded youth:

Finley Christie, TJ Perenara, Cortez Ratima, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Jordie Barrett, Rico Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown, Billy Proctor, Caleb Clarke, Emoni Narawa, Stephen Perofeta, Sifu Rees, Mark Tilia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *