How does ETIAS, the planned European travel authorization system for 2024, work?

How does ETIAS, the planned European travel authorization system for 2024, work?

The European Travel Authorization System must be completed by visitors from sixty countries without a visa. It is valid for three years and will allow repeat stays of up to 90 days.

As with the United States, Europe is equipping itself with a system to control the entry of citizens into its territory. Called ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System in English), this electronic travel authorization will be necessary to enter or accommodate one of the 33 countries in the Schengen Area. It would allow European authorities to impose enhanced control over visa-exempt foreign nationals.

This document will be requested from visitors coming from countries that do not require a visa to enter the Schengen Area. It will work on the American Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) model and will cost €7 per traveler. The cost of an ESTA is around 20 EUR.

Who will be affected?

Currently, sixty countries around the world benefit from the visa-free regime established by the European Union. Among the countries of origin that will require ETIAS for sesame are: the United States, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Canada, Brazil, or even Mexico. The full list is available at location for the European Union. “Thus the ETIAS system will cover 30 million people entering the European Union each year,” the website specifies public

On the other hand, travelers in transit from countries that require a visa to enter Europe will still need it and will not have to apply for an ETIAS. As for residents of the European Union, they will all be exempt.

READ  It's time to evaluate Benjamin Netanyahu's position

The permit is valid for 3 years

Concretely, the respective travelers will have to complete the document online. the location The EU representative advises making this application for permission to enter Europe “well in advance of the trip”. In fact, if “most applications are processed within minutes,” “the deadline can be extended up to 14 days if additional information or documents are asked, or up to 30 days if you are invited for an interview.”

This entry permit is valid for up to three years, or sooner, if the passport expires. You are allowed to enter European territory as many times as necessary for short stays. These visits must not exceed 90 days over a 180-day period.

And vie-publique adds: “This approach should make it possible to identify in advance people who are likely to pose a risk to safety or health, as well as to check compliance with immigration rules.”

Initially scheduled to be implemented in May 2023, ETIAS is scheduled to go into effect in 2024.

The most important items

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *