De Kleijn inherits victory

De Kleijn inherits victory

The first stage of 4 Days of Dunkerque saw Sam Welsford cross the line for the first time as the winner after a stormy race. After being convicted of causing Arnaud de Lee to crash at high speed, the New Zealander was demoted and the victory went to Arvid de Klein.

Perhaps Sam Wellsford just didn’t have friends. The DSM Team runner was fastest at the end of the first stage of the 4 Days of Dunkerque. But, while the final explanation was not the cleanest, New Zealander’s rating downgraded. On a 161.1 km track between Dunkirk and the Amish, marked by three difficulties that are far from insurmountable, a trio of Cyril Barth, Milan Fritten and Evaldas Siskevicius managed to break out of Peloton at great speed and take the lead two minutes later.

however, Teams of runners quickly closed the race, and 73 kilometers from the finish, this break is over without being able to fully develop. Then a side wind mixed with the party, causing breaks and giving ideas to the adventurers. After several failed attempts, Belgians Alex Coleman and Jess Van Hoek took their heels and were then caught by their compatriot Lionel Tamino.

Wellsford is wrong and de Klein inherits victory

The trio that featured Lotto-Soudal teams, and in particular Philip Gilbert who played fellow model, DSM put themselves at the top of the pack. In the final ten kilometer circuit that was covered twice, the gap continued to decrease. Alex Coleman scored the first seven kilometers from the goal, and Jess van Hoeke imitated it after three kilometers. Lionel Tamino didn’t carry an extra 1,000m for moving trains. It was a nervous peloton that approached the extension of the house. While Dan McClay seemed to be in top position, Sam Wellesford showed his qualities as a former track specialist to take the lead.

READ  Simon Bagnode wants his second ring

Meanwhile, Arnaud de Lee tried to squeeze between his rivals and watched the New Zealander grab his elbow to fend him off, causing the Lotto-Soudal Team rider to crash at high speed. If he crosses the finish line in first place, Sam Wellsford has been logically demoted by the jury. The victory in this first stage and the leader’s jersey goes to Dutchman Arvid de Klein, who beat Jason Tesson and Nils Eckoff.

Phase 1 – Dunkerque-Amiche (161.1 km) – Tuesday 3 May 2022
1- Arvid de Kleijn (PBS/Human Powered Health) at 3h31’14”
2- Jason Tyson (FRA / St Michel-Auber 93) Mt.
3- Nils Ekhov (PBS/DSM) MT
4- Pierre Barbier (FRA / B & B Hotels-KTM) Mt.
5- Alexis Renard (FRA / Cofidis) Mt

Overall rating after the first stage (out of 6)
1- Arvid de Kleijn (PBS/Human Powered Health) at 3h31’04”
2- Jason Tyson (FRA/St Michel-Auber 93 at 2″
3- Cyril Barth (FRA/B&B Hotels-KTM) in 2″
4- Milan Fritten (Belgium/Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) in 2″
5- Clement Rousseau (FRA/Arkéa-Samsic) in 3″

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.