Classic Sail: New Zealand wins the America’s Cup

Status: 03/17/2021 12:05 PM

The support in the population is huge. After New Zealand won the Copa America for the fourth time, the joy in Auckland Harbor saw no limits.

Thousands of boats were crowded with spectators in the Auckland harbor. Viewed by hundreds of thousands of people, there was almost no space on Earth when the New Zealand sailing champions led by helmsman Peter Burling made their way to the awards ceremony after completing their fourth America’s Cup coup.

With century parties, champagne fountains and flags waving, the tiny country celebrated the successful defense of the oldest trophy in international sport by the New Zealand team against rival Italy on Wednesday (March 17, 2021) amid the Coronavirus pandemic. “It means the world to us as a team,” said the 30-year-old Burling, after the decisive victory in the tenth race.

The Italians are finally without a chance

In the 36th game in the cup’s 170-year history, the Kiwis gave the Italians a slim chance at a 7: 3 ratio. The New Zealand crew aboard the T Riotai scored the decisive point in their first attempt on Wednesday, 46 seconds behind Luna Rossa.

New Zealand’s fight against Corona, which is considered a model, has allowed many onlookers to gather for group chants. Against a startling backdrop, the trophy defenders affirmed the old America’s Cup rule on the seventh and final day of the race: The fastest boat in a team design competition wins.

Fourth victory for New Zealand

26 years after their first Cup win, this is New Zealand’s fourth win. In addition to 1995 and this year, the sailors have also succeeded in 2000 and 2017. The Kiwi have been working for a successful match on their home turf for three and a half years since their last win over Bermuda.

READ  All Black Tyrel Lomax against France can be forfeited

The introduction of the new futuristic boat class AC75 with single-hull flying machines on the wings proved to be a direct hit. Martin Fischer (58), a Sealy-born physicist who works with the Luna Rossa Prada Pirelli team, said: “The class was a huge success. It was a good choice and it wasn’t stressful, and it’s still exciting.”

The loser wants to start over

America’s Cup Winner: Sailors from New Zealand

Bild: Xinhua / eyevine / laif

The Italian racing team, which lost on its sixth attempt at the hands of billionaire Patrizio Bertelli, wants to remain faithful to the Copa America despite a renewed defeat. Assistant captain Francesco Bruni (47) said: “The situation is difficult today, but it is not over yet.” “Patrizio Bertelli continues. He told me that.”

Bronny helmsmate Jimmy Spethyl also wants to continue. “I have competed in the last four cup finals, winning twice and losing twice. I’d like to steer that in the right direction in the future,” said the 41-year-old Australian. Team president Max Serena thanked fans back home: “We’ve been cheering for millions of Italians in the past few weeks. And that means a lot to us in times like these.”

For New Zealand captain Grant Dalton (63), whose crew lost in the 2013 San Francisco Cup drama 8: 9 to America after an 8: 1 lead, but managed to take revenge on the disgrace in 2017 ahead of Bermuda, it’s a sweet second victory. “Bermuda was a milestone. But this is much bigger because it happened at home,” he said.

READ  New Zealand refuses to travel to India to attend FIH Hockey Pro League matches

Support from the highest government level

In New Zealand, the New Zealand team is called the “Five Million Team” because the residents are united behind the most successful Cup team in nearly three decades. The New Zealand government surrounding Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern congratulated the victory and immediately provided financial support for the upcoming defense.

The future of the Copa America remained open on the day of New Zealand’s victory. Given the unusual nature of the regattas in which the winning team dictated the framework terms for the next edition in accordance with the founding charter of 1857, it remains to be seen how New Zealand will shape the 37th edition.

America’s Cup winners

1851 – America (USA) – Aurora (England)
1870 – Magic (USA) – Cambria (England)
1871 – Colombia and Savo (USA) – Livonia (England)
1876 ​​Madeleine (USA) – Countess of Dufferin (Canada)
1881 – Mischief (USA) – Atalanta (Canada)
1885 – Puritan (USA) – Genista (England)
1886 – Mayflower (USA) – Galantia (England)
1887 – Volunteer (USA) – Thistle (Scotland)
1893 – Vigilance (USA) – Valkyrie II (England)
1895 – Defender (USA) – Valkyrie III (England)
1899 – Colombia (USA) – Shamrock (Ireland)
1901 – Colombia (USA) – Shamrock II (Ireland)
1903 – Reliance (USA) – Shamrock III (Ireland)
1920 – Hazem (USA) – Shamrock IV (Ireland)
1930 – Enterprise (USA) – Shamrock V (Norderland)
1934 – Rainbow (USA) – Endeavor (England)
1937 – Ranger (USA) – Endeavor II (England)
1958 Colombia (USA) – Scepter (England)
1962 – Weatherley (USA) – Gretel (Australia)
1964 – Constellation (USA) – Sovereign (England)
1967 Basil (USA) – Dam Patty (Australia)
1970 – Basil (USA) – Gretel II (Australia)
1974 – Shrigus (USA) – Southern Cross (Australia)
1977 – Courageous (USA) – Australia (Australia)
1980 – Freedom (USA) – Australia (Australia)
1983 – Australia 2 (Australia) – Liberty (USA)
1987 – Stars and Stripes (USA) – Kookaburra III (Australia)
1988 – Stars and Stripes (USA) – KZ-1 (New Zealand)
1992- America 3 (USA) – El Morro di Venezia (Italy)
1995 – New Zealand Black Magic Team (New Zealand) vs Young America (USA)
2000 – Team New Zealand (New Zealand) – Luna Rossa (Italy)
2003 Linge (Switzerland) – New Zealand (New Zealand)
2007 – Alinghi (Switzerland) – New Zealand (New Zealand)
2010 – Oracle (USA) – Alange (Schweiz)
2013 – Oracle (USA) – Team New Zealand (New Zealand)
2017 – Team New Zealand (New Zealand) – Oracle (USA)
2021 – Team New Zealand (New Zealand) vs Luna Rossa (Italy)

READ  Today the opening ceremony, where to see and when to show Italy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *