3 Toulouse and 2 Rochella are vying for the title of best player in Europe

3 Toulouse and 2 Rochella are vying for the title of best player in Europe

UEFA announced Tuesday that three players from Toulouse and two from La Rochelle, the two teams who will face each other in the European Rugby Cup Final, are among the five finalists for the European Footballer of the Year title. Continental competitions.

These are the Toulouse team of French international players Antoine Dupont and Julian Marchand, and double New Zealand world champion Jerome Kainuu who will close their strap belts at the end of the season at the age of 38. The third line is from XV de France Grégory Alldritt and the second is massive
Australian streak Will Skelton, dazzling Sunday in the victorious semi-final match against Leinster (32-23), are the two players named to the Rochelle team.

The selection was made by a jury made up of consultants, including French Demetriy Yachvili and South African Brian Habana, as well as by public vote. Toulouse and La Rochelle, in the first two places of the top 14, will face each other on May 22 at Twickenham Stadium in London in the sixth final between France and France in European Cup history. The winner of the European Footballer of the Year title will be announced at the end of the final match.

Exeter player Sam Symonds was named last year. No French player won this honor, which nevertheless rewarded four players who play in the top 14 clubs: Leon Nakarawa (Racing 92) in 2018, Nick Abendanon (Clermont) in 2015, Stephon Armitage (Toulon) in 2014 and Johnny Wilkinson (Toulon) in year 2013.

READ  Women's soccer: Michaela Moore's ordeal with three stars in 30 minutes during the United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *