Setarip Syndicate.

New Zealand’s oldest harness racing syndicate is set to celebrate its 50 year anniversary in Southland this September.

A syndicate that celebrates comradery, social outings and rugby ties, the Setarip Syndicate was first formed in on 19 September 1969, after a rule change then allowed more than four people to share in the ownership of a horse.

The syndicate was one of five registered on that day, with Setarip now being the oldest surviving syndicate in the country.

Remarkably, after 50 years the syndicate still has two original members, Joe Wilson the syndicate manager and Clark Neil. Wilson was also able to bring his two sons Paul and Andrew into the syndicate.

Former original syndicate member, the late Ted Mortimer, is also still represented by his family in the syndicate too.

Current members are: Joe Wilson, Clark Neil, Gary Tippett, John Archer, Ron Baron, Murray Brown, Daryl Burgess, Bruce Campbell, Paul Challis, Terry Edgerton, Pauline Flanders, Wayne McCulloch, the Mortimer family, Stephen Sanders, Colin Sanford, Jill Slaughter, Collin Telfer, Nick Wells, Trevor Tomlins, Paul Wilson, John Woodger, Steve Pulley, Dean Mcloud, Carl Hana, Andrew Wilson, Kylie White and Wayne Grey.